Online Test of Chapter 1 Power Sharing Test 2 Civics (Social Science S.St)| Class 10th

Q.1. Which of the statements about power-sharing arrangements in Belgium and Sri Lanka is correct?
a. In Belgium, the Dutch-speaking majority people tried to impose their domination.
b. In Sri Lanka, the policies of the government sought to ensure the dominance of the Sinhala-speaking majority
c. The Tamils in Sri Lanka demanded a federal arrangement of power-sharing to protect their culture, language and equality of opportunity in education and jobs
d. The transformation of Belgium from a unitary government to a federal one prevented the division of country on linguistic lines.

Q.2. How many times was the Constitution of Belgium amended between 1970 and 1993?
a. Two times
b. Three times
c. Five times
d. Four times

Q.3. What led to tensions between the Dutch-speaking and French-speaking communities?
a. Both the communities demanded special powers
b. The minority French-speaking community was richer and more powerful than the majority Dutch-speaking community
c. The majority Dutch-speaking community was richer and more powerful than the minority French-speaking community
d. Both the communities were equal in socio-economic ladder and this was resented by the French-speaking community

Q.4. What led to non-sharing of power?
a. Peace among all the communities
b. The tyranny of the majority and oppression of minority
c. Negation of the very spirit of democracy
d. Both (b) and (c)

Q.5. Which is a prudent reason for power sharing?
a. It reduces the possibility of conflict between communities and ensures the stability of political order b. Power-sharing is the very spirit of democracy
c. Both the above
d. None of these

Q.6. Which of the following is not one of the aspects of federal division of powers?
a. Sharing of powers among central provincial and local governments
b. Division of powers involving higher and lower levels of government
c. The Constitution clearly lays down powers of different levels of government
d. There is no vertical division of powers

Q.7. Which of the following countries have federal division of powers?
a. India
b. Belgium
c. Sri Lanka
d. Both (a) and (b)

Q.8. Which of the following is not one of the three organs of government powers are shared?
a. Legislature
b. Bureaucracy
c. Executive
d. Judiciary

Q.9. Which one of the following systems of power sharing is called checks and balances?
a. Horizontal distribution of powers
b. Federal division of powers
c. Separation of powers
d. Power shared among different levels of government (a)

Q.10. Which language was declared as the only official language of Sri Lanka by an Act passed in 1956?
a. Tamil
b. Sinhala
c. Hindi
d. English

Chapter - 1 Power sharing Class - 10th Quiz - 2

Click on ‘Start Quiz’ to Take Test.